Frequently Asked Questions

What are the fees associated with renting my property? Leasing fees varies by property but the customary charge is equal to first month's rent. (This covers many things other companies don’t or won’t offer – see below.) Management fees also vary but the standard charge is 10% of rent collected each month. (This too covers many things other companies don’t or won’t do for you.) No hidden fees or costs.

What is the leasing fee and when is that payment required? The leasing fee includes: advertising the property, sign placement, lock box, pictures, answering ad calls and screening the tenants, preparing & executing the lease. Payment is required when the signed property management agreement is submitted to begin property management services.

Where do you advertise? We advertise in many ways and with a variety of sources. Some of them are: HAR.com which syndicates to numerous websites, Trulia, Zilliow, Hotpads, on our website and many more.

How long does it take to find a renter for my property? Our company average is less than 30 days. However, the time it takes can vary depending on several factors. Some of those factors being; market conditions, location, rental price, and condition of property.

When will I receive my owner capital funds? Owner capital funds will be submitted between the 5th and the 12th of each month.

What are the factors that could effect the date I receive my funds? The first of the month falling on a weekend. Holidays The tenant paying on time.

Do I need to leave money in my account as a reserve? No reserve is required.

What happens if a repair is needed on my home? The tenant will contact our Maintenance Coordinator and we will contract our approved vendors to conduct the necessary repair. Any repair under $250 will be automatically deducted from your monthly owner capital funds. (If you have a home warranty contract, please provide us with a copy of the contract and we will make them our first contact.) You will be given a copy of the receipt marked “Do Not Pay – This Is For Your Records Only”. If the necessary repair is anticipated to be over $250, you will be contacted with a quote for approval. If you are unable to be reached or the home warranty company does not respond in a timely manner, we will conduct the necessary repair in accordance with Texas laws.

Who is an approved vendor? An approved vendor has been determined to be in good business standing, is aware of and complies with Texas laws and has agreed to invoice fairly and in a timely manner, and has proven to be courteous and professional to clients.

Should I allow someone to smoke in my home? No – it is a standard part of our lease that smoking is not permitted in the home or the garage.

Should I allow pets in my home? We encourage that you allow pets, but will certainly honor your wishes either way. A large percentage of prospective tenants have pets. Forbidding pets can significantly decrease the number or prospective tenants that may be interested in your home resulting in a longer time on the market. If pets are granted, we require an additional security deposit from the tenant and proof of insurance with a minimum coverage of $100,000.

How many people are allowed to live in my home? We follow the City and State ordinances.

What happens if the tenant doesn’t pay on time? A 5-day notice to begin eviction proceedings is sent on the 2nd (or the net business day if the 2nd falls on a weekend.) via certified mail in accordance with TX Landlord and Tenant Act on the next business day after the first of the month. If the tenant still does not pay after the 5-days, the appropriate paperwork is sent to the attorney to secure a court date with the judge. (This date can vary depending on the docket of the judge.) Typically we are in court between the 15th and the 25th of the month. Once the judgment is granted by the judge, he or she will give the tenant five days from the court date to vacate the home.

How do you qualify the tenant? We perform a credit check, criminal background check, employment verification, residency verification in addition to asking the tenant for references.

Am I involved in approving the tenant? You can be as involved as you like. You will be notified when we have performed the appropriate checks and received an earnest deposit from the prospective tenant. An approved application and an earnest deposit will allow us to take the house off the market and hold it in that tenant’s name until the move-in date.

Can I enter the home or conduct an inspection of the home during the tenant’s occupancy? We do not typically do an inspection during the tenant occupancy as we cannot police the way that someone lives. Entering the home would require a 48-hour notice to be sent Certified mail, allowing 5 days for the mail to be received. (7 days total). If you request an inspection, there would be a charge of $45 to your account.

How do I proceed with having Rent Check Houston manage my home? The Steps: Contact our office at 832-758-1155 to schedule an appointment with Kelly K McKenzie. Sign and return the Property Management Agreement, Property Registration, W-9, Auto Deposit form if you desire your funds to be automatically deposited into your account.

Kelly K. McKenzie, Owner & Managing Broker & Texas Residential/Commercial Property Manager

Scott A. Frnka, REALTOR® and Team Lead Frnka Realty Group of Keller Williams Professionals